top of page
< Back


What was the exact constitutional status of India on 26th January, 1950?
(a) A Democratic Republic
(b) A Sovereign Democratic Republic
(c) A Sovereign Secular Democratic Republic
(d) A Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic



To suggest corrections, send feedback using feedback button in top menu.

To suggest corrections, use feedback icon on top menu.


On 26th January 1950, India adopted its new Constitution and officially became a Republic, marking the transition from the Dominion status it had as a part of the British Commonwealth. The term "Sovereign" indicates that India is an independent nation, not under the control or authority of any foreign power. "Democratic" signifies that India is a country where power is vested in the people, and the government is chosen through free and fair elections. The term "Republic" indicates that the head of state is an elected representative, as opposed to a hereditary monarch.

It is important to note that while the terms "Secular" and "Socialist" were added to the Preamble of the Indian Constitution through 42nd constitutioanl amendment in 1976, they were not present in the original constitutional status of India on 26th January, 1950.


How was this explanation?

bottom of page