top of page
< Back


In the context of Indian history, the-principle of ‘Dyarchy (diarchy)' refers to
(a) Division of the central legislature into two houses.
(b) Introduction of double government i.e.; Central and State governments.
(c) Having two sets of rulers; one in London and another in Delhi.
(d) Division of the subjects delegated to the provinces into two categories.



To suggest corrections, send feedback using feedback button in top menu.

To suggest corrections, use feedback icon on top menu.


During the British colonial rule in India, the Government of India Act of 1919 introduced the concept of dyarchy, which involved the division of powers and responsibilities between the central government and the provincial governments. Under dyarchy, certain subjects were reserved for the central government's exclusive control, while others were transferred to the provincial governments. This division aimed to provide a limited form of self-governance to the provinces while retaining significant control with the central government.


How was this explanation?

bottom of page